Professional OPC
Development Tools

logos

Online Forums

Technical support is provided through Support Forums below. Anybody can view them; you need to Register/Login to our site (see links in upper right corner) in order to Post questions. You do not have to be a licensed user of our product.

Please read Rules for forum posts before reporting your issue or asking a question. OPC Labs team is actively monitoring the forums, and replies as soon as possible. Various technical information can also be found in our Knowledge Base. For your convenience, we have also assembled a Frequently Asked Questions page.

Do not use the Contact page for technical issues.

Help with Reading Yokogawa DCS OPC Items in OSIsoft PI System

More
04 Nov 2022 14:14 #11187 by Wigweh
Thank you so very much, and sorry for just acknowledging the response - didn't see it until yesterday. I must confess I'm a novice at how QuickOPC works, and there are a few details I need to find out about the applications involved in our use case, too. Let me please get back in a short while.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Oct 2022 16:20 #11182 by support
Hello.
I am confused as what it is you are trying to achieve. Or maybe it is not clear to you what QuickOPC can do and how.

Here are my observations:

A. QuickOPC can be used from VBScript, and VBScript can be hosted in many environments. There are at least four hosts that come with Windows, but there are also other applications that use VBScript as their scripting language. Those that come with Windows are: 1) console-based CScript, 2) GUI-based WScript, 3) ability to run VBScript inside Internet Explorer ("client side"), and 4) ability to use VBScript to generate Web pages (ASP, "server-side" scripting). It looks like that you are trying to use (3), which is only good in very specific scenarios. Usually, it is not the right choice.